There are certain things that you can say aren't wedding etiquette and I hope forgoing the idea of handing out wedding favors isn't one of them.  I never intended on giving favors at our wedding 'cause I thought it would be too much trouble to pack them to Aruba, let alone the costs of something that will likely be thrown away later.  But a couple months ago I came across another Aruba bride who got married this past October.  She came up with the idea of taking her guests on an excursion in lieu of favors.  I thought that was a brilliant idea-so I stole it, ok borrowed! 
     After doing the research of pros and cons, getting estimated costs, and company comparisons, I presented the idea to the fiance!  I thought it was a great plan, but then he shut it down with a quickness!  He complained we were already spending too much money!  I was so sad, really sad!
     This past weekend, I brought up the idea again at our marriage retreat (the most opportune time-since we're "putting everything out on the table").  I put on my sad face and asked him again if we could gift our family and friends with a 3 hour sailing excursion (open bar, snorkeling, snacks, and tons of FUN included-oh I know right, how could he say no in the first place?!) and he answered, "OK if it makes you happy?!  But agree that there will be nothing else added!?"  I soon agreed and did my happy dance!  I'm so excited about it and can't wait to surprise our guest when they read it in our Welcome Letter!
     Thanks goes out to Christine (the other Aruba bride) for the idea and the recommendation!  We chose to charter a private boat from Mi Dushi.  It'll be a 3 hour sunset excursion, full of good times with great family and friends!  It's all booked and paid for so there's no turning back fiance! 
     Do you like giving surprises?  Are you surprising your guests with anything for your wedding?



Leave a Reply.