Picture
     After our heartfelt wedding ceremony, it was time for the guests to mix and mingle.  What better way to showcase Aruba's beaches & sunset than to host our cocktail hour on the beach (same area of our ceremony)!  So while the sun was setting, our friends & family enjoyed drinks, hor dourves, and the sounds of a caribbean steel pan player! 
Picture
     Jeff and I had the privilege of having a site visit last year while planning our wedding and we had the opportunity to have a food and cake tasting.  We preselected our cocktail hour hor dourvers and they were delicious!  We chose the chicken satay, shrimp with mango relish served on a spoon, chilled beef tenderloin on foccaccia, & conch fritters.  Though Jeff and I tried the appetizers during our site visit, we didn't get to enjoy them during the actual cocktail hour, but I know everyone else did. 
Picture
Picture
     During cocktail hour the hubby & I were having our own wedding shoot and so did everyone else!  Here are some of my girls, aren't they beautiful with their colorful dresses and sun kissed tans!? 
Picture
     I'm glad that the bamboo arch had more use than us just using it!  We chose a simple bamboo arch without any floral decor, we didn't want to take away from the already beautiful scenery and besides being simple is just our style.
Picture
Picture
Picture
     You might be wondering where all the fellas are in the photos.  Where else but at the bar, right?!  All our guests enjoyed a fully stocked open bar.  From what I heard our bartenders weren't being greedy with the alcohol either!  So everyone was having fun and feeling nice!
Picture
     So while our family & friends were getting the party started, this is what the newlyweds were doing.  Here's a sneak preview of some of the shots our photographers took!  They really have an artistic eye and I can't wait to see the outcome of the pictures! 
Picture
Picture
     So our guests got to enjoy each others company while I enjoyed the alone time with my new hubby (and the photographers).  Did you enjoy your cocktail hour with your guests or did you have one on one time with your husband?
7/2/2010 07:54:14 am

We're leaning towards having our wedding at the Westin next year. I'm excited to read your review. It sounds like everything was fabulous. Beautiful pictures. :) I sent Inge pics of bamboo arches like yours. She said she could get one from an outside vendor. Did you go through the Westin's vendor for yours? Was it very expensive to opt for bamboo instead of the one that's included?

Reply
Jing
7/2/2010 11:49:46 am

Hey Kate! Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! You won't be disappointed in having your wedding in Aruba, and I hope you do chose the Westin, because they deserve more praise than I can give!
As far as the bamboo arch, we did get that through the Westin's vendor (all our vendors were recommended by the Westin). I believe the price was about $300-$350. The fabric arches is what comes free with the package, also beautiful, but I loved the bamboo arch after I saw pictures from another Westin Bride. I hope this helps! Good luck to you and please let me know if you have other questions!

Reply
Kate
7/2/2010 02:00:57 pm

Thanks for the quick response! The pricing is more reasonable than I expected. :) Thanks for including all the details in your posts. Your experience with the Westin has definitely made our decision easier! Congrats on your beautiful wedding :)

Reply
Stacy
3/7/2011 03:28:46 am

Hey Jing! Great pics! It's nice to see some real weddings since there aren't many to be found of the Westin. I'm getting married there this May and unfortunately, Patrick is leaving and heading back home. Anyway, I wanted to know is, how close to sunset did you start your ceremony and when did it get dark? I don't want to start too early because I want the colorful sky but don't want to be in the dark too soon either.
Thanks!

Reply



Leave a Reply.