I've been asked to post pictures of our cake, so I'll skip all the other stuff right now and fill that request (anything to help a fellow bride)!  Below is the inspirational picture of our cake that Jeff & I showed our wedding coordinator during our site visit last year. 
     Because I've heard horror stories of cake replicas at destination weddings my expectations for our cake wasn't very high.  Stepping into our reception, I was a little scared to see the cake table.  I was thinking I was going to see a hot mess!  I feel bad for even saying it cause I know you should have more faith in your cake baker, but when you haven't seen previous photos of their work, you just think the worst I guess. 
Picture
                                                     SOURCE
     The Westin's cake baker proved me wrong!  When I saw the cake table, I was in awe.  The cake looked beautiful and it was beyond my expectations!  The detail work was amazing, though this picture doesn't show it as well, it was gorgeous in person. 
Picture
     Here's a closer look.  The fondant was imprinted with a floral design (it's kind of hard to see in this photo, but believe me it was gorgeous) and then garnished with real seashells.  The flavors we chose were chocolate cake with dulce de leche (bottom tier), chocolate cake with vanilla custard (middle tier), & chocolate cake with chocolate custard (top tier). 
     The hubby and I had a cake tasting during the site visit and I remember it being very delicious, but to be honest, I didn't eat cake at our wedding (besides the traditional cake cutting & feeding moment).  I know, you're like "WHAT?" but I was having too much fun at our reception and there was no time for eating cake or even the macadamia pie that was served after dinner!  But I did hear from some of our guests that the cake was really yummy! 
Picture
     So after the reception was all said and done, the top layer of our cake was delivered to our room.  I didn't realize that the waitstaff saved it for us to enjoy together, what a sweet gesture!  Again, we still didn't eat it!  Jeff was so determined to get this home in one piece to devour on our 1 year anniversary!  Sometimes he can be more sentimental than me (one of my favorite traits), so I agreed just as long as he was the one carrying it! 
     The cake made it home safely and is now wrapped in tons of plastic and foil wrap in our freezer!  The thought of eating cake a year old doesn't sound appetizing, but I guess I can do it for the sake of tradition! 
Picture
     In the end, we were both very pleased with the work that was done and it got me wondering why I was even worried in the first place!  Just makes you think that we should all have a little faith and if it doesn't work out the way we hoped for, just let it go-no biggie, minor detail for the BIG DAY!
     Were you surprised with your cake outcome?  In a good way or bad? 
3/8/2011 10:26:03 am

That's some inspirational stuff. Never knew that opinions could possibly be this varied. Thank you for all of the enthusiasm to provide such useful details here. I’m in fact fairly interested so will retain an eye out for updates! You are so great at obtaining what you would like to say out there in a way thats intelligent and entertaining. Im actually impressed!

Reply



Leave a Reply.